RSS Browse 14 041 based businesses on 1 pages in the Museums category.


1. Bayworld - Museum, Oceanarium and Snake Park Complex : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
Offers information on the facility and its conservation efforts for local marine species, show times, pictures of resident Bottle Nose Dolphins and links.

E-Mail or Phone Bayworld - Museum, Oceanarium and Snake Park Complex

2. Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Art Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Art Museum, formerly the King George VI Art Gallery, was opened on 22 June 1956 and renamed in December 2002. The collections are housed in two buildings framing the entrance to St George's Park and consist of South African art (particularly that of the Eastern Cape), British art, international printmaking and Oriental art (including Indian miniatures and Chinese textiles).

E-Mail or Phone Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Art Museum

3. South End Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The South End Museum Trust committee was started in 1999 when a group of people from the disadvantaged communities of Port Elizabeth who had been affected by the forced removals of the Group Areas Act, saw the need to commemorate the past history of the suburb of South End. A public meeting of former South End residents was called at the City Hall by Yusuf Agherdien, Michael Barry and a few other people to establish the trust.

E-Mail or Phone South End Museum

4. AutoPavilion - Place of Cars and Legends : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The AutoPavilion, Place of Cars and Legends, first opened doors in 2004, the result of a need for a modern, state-of-the art Volkswagen heritage centre to replace the existing museum that housed the Company's old vehicles. The AutoPavilion is open weekdays from 08:30 – 16:00 and on the first Saturday of each month from 10:00 to 13:00. Factory tours must be pre-booked.

E-Mail or Phone AutoPavilion - Place of Cars and Legends

5. Fort Frederick : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
Fort Frederick is a stone fort built in 1799 by the British Forces to defend the mouth of the Baakens River. It was named after Frederick, Duke of York, and was built by English troops sent to Algoa Bay to assist the Graaff-Reinet rebels in preventing a possible landing of French soldiers. Yet, ironically, no shot was ever fired in anger from the Fort. The Fort, containing a powder magazine and a guardhouse, was originally defended by 2 eight-pounder guns. Open daily from sunrise to sunset.

E-Mail or Phone Fort Frederick

6. Campanile : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The Campanile (meaning Bell Tower in Italian) was erected to commemorate the landing of the 1820 British Settlers and is situated at the entrance to the railway station and harbour. The 53.5-m Campanile contains a chiming clock and the largest carillon of bells in the country. The observation room can be reached by climbing a 204-step staircase, offering a magnificent view of the harbour and surroundings. (It is advisable to visit this attraction in a group.) Open Tue. to Sun. from 09h00 to 12h30 & 13h30 to 14h00.

E-Mail or Phone Campanile

7. No. 7 Castle Hill Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
Built circa 1829, No. 7 Castle Hill is regarded as one of the oldest surviving Settler dwellings in PE. Following renovations, the building was opened as a Museum in 1964. The interior of this picturesque family dwelling presents a picture of domestic life enjoyed by an English middle class family in Port Elizabeth in mid-19th Century. The building has Yellowwood floors and beams, and a restored slate roof, and displays beautiful early Victorian furniture and household items. Open Mon. to Thur. 09h00 to 13h00 & 14h00 to 16h30, Fri. 09h00 to 13h00 & 14h00 to 16h00.

E-Mail or Phone No. 7 Castle Hill Museum

8. The Main Library : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The splendid old Main Library is situated in the North-Western corner of Market Square. The first building on the site was constructed in 1835, and was used as a courthouse from 1854. The present library building was officially opened in 1902. The building is regarded as an excellent example of Victorian Gothic architecture. Its striking terra-cotta facade was manufactured in England and rebuilt piece by piece on the present site. The majestic Sicilian marble statue of Queen Victoria, at the library entrance, was erected and unveiled in 1903. Visitors are invited to browse around inside the Library.

E-Mail or Phone The Main Library

9. South Africa Air Force PE Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The SAAF Museum boasts a HISTORIC COLLECTION of aviation exhibits, aircraft, memoribillia, restoration projects, warbirds and modern fighter aircraft. Aviation Art gallery, library, shop and functions for events.

E-Mail or Phone South Africa Air Force PE Museum

10. St Croix Motor Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The St. Croix Motor Museum displays a private collection of vintage and classic vehicles dating back to 1901. Visits at 11h00 and 15h00 can be arranged by contacting the curator, Mr Eben de Vos Cell: 083 463 5286. Also open on Saturdays from 14h00 until 16h00.

E-Mail or Phone St Croix Motor Museum

11. Toys & Teas : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
Toys and Teas Toy Museum and Coffee Shop, open Monday to Friday 9:00 - 16:30 and Saturday from 8:00 - 14:30. Light meals and Breakfasts served. Group Bookings are welcome. We buy old toys to add to our collection, which include Dinky, Corgi, Matchbox, Tekno cars and Tinplate Toys. Join us for a cuppa while you reminisce over the bye gone days. We charge a small entrance fee to view our Museum, but the experience is worth every cent.

E-Mail or Phone Toys & Teas

12. Van Der Kemps Kloof - Bethelsdorp : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
Located on the little Swartkops River, Bethelsdorp was established in 1803 by Dr Johannes Theodosius Van Der Kemp and was the first organised settlement in the Algoa Bay area, bar the military command post at Fort Frederick. He was sent by the London Missionary Society & built a permanent settlement to fulfil his missionary work. These include the Church, first built in 1803 (rebuilt 1903 and 1926); the market square with the Mission Bell, erected in 1815; a square stone house, named David Livingstone Cottage (a guest cottage where Dr David Livingstone is reputed to have stayed); and a row of Almshouses built in 1822.

E-Mail or Phone Van Der Kemps Kloof - Bethelsdorp

13. Prince Alfred's Guard Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The Museum grew out of a fusion of a military museum formerly housed in the Donkin Reserve complex and the regimental museum of the Prince Alfred’s Guard Regiment. The Prince Alfred’s Guard (PAG), is a City Regiment which was founded in 1856 as the Port Elizabeth Volunteer Rifle Corps. Its name changed by Royal assent after it provided a Royal Guard for Prince Alfred, second son of Queen Victoria, on his visit to the City in 1860. The Victorian Drill Hall, in which the Museum is housed, is one of the finest surviving examples of its type. It was opened in 1880 and has been the Regiment’s HQ’s ever since. Visiting hours: By appointment.

E-Mail or Phone Prince Alfred's Guard Museum

14. South African Airforce Museum : (Contact) Rate | Comment | Modify | Report
The SA Air Force Museum is located on the southern side of the PE Airport in a restored WW2 hanger. The Museum boasts a total of 9 aircraft, including helicopters, a supersonic jet fighter, two of the world-famous Harvard trainers amongst others, and the oldest surviving jet fighter in SA. There is also a display of aircraft memorabilia, together with a fine collection of models and pictures in the main exhibition hall. Open: Weekdays: 08h00-15h00; Sat: 09h00-16h00; Sun: 10h00-16h00. Open public holidays except Christmas day & New Years day.

E-Mail or Phone South African Airforce Museum

Find Museums in Port Elizabeth on: DuckDuckGo | Ask | Bing | Google

Museums - last updated on: 7 Apr 2016

comments powered by Disqus